Zanzibar is an archipelago that includes two large and many smaller islands in the Indian Ocean that are a semi-autonomous province of Tanzania. The Arab-Islamic former Sultanate, and later British Protectorate, joined Tanganyika in 1963, forming the state of Tanzania, but retaining its quite different characteristics.


The traditionally Islamic background of the inhabitants of Zanzibar makes them relatively distant and introverted to the crowds of tourists who flock to enjoy the turquoise beaches and tropical climate.


The two main islands are Unguja (simply known as Zanzibar) and Pemba. The most beautiful beaches of Zanzibar are located in the northern and eastern part of the island while the capital Stonetown presents an unrivaled Arabian architecture.



under construction

Facebook Comments